Teaching Staff

 

Vanessa

Vanessa TARCA

首席教師及課程發展主任

English Teacher

Bachelor of Education in Primary

Vanessa 來自澳洲, 畢業於澳洲聖母大學, 經過六年的學習,Vanessa 獲得了學士學位 ( 小學教育 )。完成大學後,便接受Good Shepherd天主教小學全職老師的職位。 她在Good Shepherd天主教小學工作了四年,主要教授三年級、四年級和五年級的學生。

是時候換新的環境了!隨著她Vanessa移居到香港,她選擇了幼兒教師作為全職工作。她對教學充滿熱誠,也相信「學習」對每個人來說都應該是有趣的。Vanessa喜歡引導孩子學習、重視過程,關心他們的興趣、生活和家庭。她有信心幫助孩子找到安全感,令孩子們在課堂上受到重視,成為對世界充滿好奇的學習者。

Vanessa感到非常榮幸可以成為伊頓 的一份子!

Morgan

Morgan MC LAREN

English Teacher

Bachelor of Science
Bachelor of Design
PGDE Early Childhood Education

Morgan 在過去的三年裡一直在教授各種年齡段和背景的英語。這些經驗使她對香港學校教育系統的英語要求有了深刻的理解。對教學充滿熱情,她期待在EtonHouse進行新的教學和學習之旅。

Morgan在她的家鄉紐約和香港都有國際學習,對早期兒童有著全面的方法。她堅信孩子們通過遊戲和探究來學習。摩根了解環境的重要性,並立即發現她對(Reggio Emilia)方法的濃厚興趣。Morgan的樂趣和積極態度有助於她與孩子,員工和家庭建立牢固的關係。她期待著與大家見面並開始新學年。

Pauli

Pauli LEE

Mandarin Teacher

Master of Teaching Chinese as an International language
Bachelor of Education (Honours) Early Childhood Education
PGCE Early Childhood Education

作為一名幼兒園老師已有6年多的時間,黎老師擁有2至6歲的學生教學經驗。通過這個教學時期,她知道孩子們終身學習能力很強。他們喜歡用不同的傳感器探索世界,因此作為教師,她認為我們需要尊重每個孩子的個人主義,並提供最好的環境來發現世界並以安全的方式滿足他們的好奇心。

完成中文作為國際語言教學的碩士學位,黎老師喜歡探索來自不同國家和文化的不同語言。她熱衷於將她的普通話知識和文化傳授給幼兒。除了講普通話外,黎老師還精通印度尼西亞語。她用它來旅行並教導他人語言的重要性和價值。

閒暇時,黎老師喜歡旅遊。她非常有興趣參觀博物館,歷史遺跡和品嚐不同的美食。

Victoria

Victoria ZHANG

Mandarin Teacher

Master of Education in Early Childhood Education
Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education

Victoria 獲得香港教育大學碩士學位,主修幼兒教育。憑藉幼兒教育的熱情,她是一位耐心,充滿活力,思想開明的幼兒園教師,旨在引導兒童以有意義和適當的方式探索他們所感興趣的任何事物。

Victoria認為,兒童是世界的開始設計者,他們可以共同構建他們的知識,形成他們的觀念並建立他們與他人的聯繫。她鼓勵孩子們在我們所有人為他們創造的真實溫暖的環境中通過遊戲來學習。她了解每個教室都有自己獨特的社區,並認為幫助每個孩子發展自己的潛能是教師的角色。

Emiko

Emiko STEWART

English Teacher

Community Studies (Education)
PGCE Early Childhood Education

作為一名教育工作者,Emiko旨在營造一種課堂氛圍,讓學生充分發揮潛能。在學習環境中,Emiko旨在創造一個安全和鼓勵的空間,允許個別孩子的發展。學習空間必須邀請個別孩子承擔風險,探索和分享他們的想法。

Emiko對早期兒童學習充滿熱情,認為基本要素是:

- 教育者和父母之間積極和清晰的溝通

- 教師的角色是為孩子們創造空間,讓他們參與學習活動

- 學生能夠選擇並讓他們的好奇心指導他們的學習

- 允許學生適當和活動使用他們的發展技能

- 讓學生選擇和讓他們的好奇心指導他們的學習的能力

Sarah

Sarah LAN

Mandarin Teacher

PGDE Early Childhood Education
Master of Education English (Language Education)
Bachelor of Education (English Literature and Education)
Bachelor of Arts (Japanese)

Sarah來自中國江西省。她獲得了華中師範大學的英語文學教育學士學位。 Sarah在香港大學獲得教育碩士學位,對教學,學習和語言充滿熱情。她是終身學習者,目前正在完成早期兒童教育的PGDE。

Sarah了解早期兒童發展的重要性,並希望為她的孩子創造一個安全,快樂和令人興奮的環境。她使用音樂元素,角色扮演和押韻來參與學習和提高記憶技能。 Sarah對Reggio Emilia的方法充滿熱情,並期待在新學年加入EtonHouse的環境。

在業餘時間,Sara還完成了日語文學學士學位。她喜歡日本的食物,文化和歷史。

Shirley

Shirley KOO

Mandarin Teacher

Bachelor in English Education
PGDE in Early Childhood Education
Master in Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language
Master Degree, TEFL

Shirley的故鄉是中國廣西省。她擁有豐富的經驗,曾在香港和中國的不同幼兒園工作超過11年。Shirley在中國大陸獲得了第一個學位。然後,她去了香港教育學院學習,獲得了早期兒童教育的PGDE。她還在香港理工大學完成了對外漢語教學碩士學位。

Shirley曾在當地和海外擔任專業的普通話教師。她認為每個孩子都是獨一無二的,具有潛力,教師需要鼓勵和支持孩子通過探究,觀察,傾聽,與他人交流來探索世界。

Shirley是一個熱情的人,她提供一個溫暖而充滿愛的學習環境,孩子們從小就喜歡學習普通話。在業餘時間,Shirley喜歡與家人在一起。她喜歡騎自行車,游泳和打乒乓球。

Ciara

Ciara SAAVEDRA

English Teacher

Bachelor of Arts (English)

Ciara來自美國,她在新澤西州長大,然後搬到南卡羅來納州。高中畢業後,她留在南卡羅來納州,並在克萊姆森大學就讀,主修英語,輔修政治學。在大學期間,Ciara參與了Clemson University在校園裡最大的慈善組織,並很快了解到她對與孩子們一起工作的熱情,旨在為他們提供一個光明的未來。

大學畢業後,Ciara想花時間去旅行並獲得真實的體驗,所以她找到了去香港教育年輕學生的路。她的教學理念包括幫助孩子不僅在學業上成長,而且還培養學習的願望。 Ciara通過實現她自己的老師在學校生涯中的影響力而獲得了對教學的熱情。如果沒有他們在課堂上的指導,她就不會成為她今天的驅動,富有同情心的人。她希望創造一個安全的教學環境,邀請學生玩得開心,創造性地表達自己。

Ciara

June CHEN

English Teacher

Bachelor's of Education Degree

陳芳老師曾在上海,香港,及美國德克薩斯州任教。 2009年搬回香港之後,她在多家國際學校工作過。陳老師持有教育學學士學位。她亦曾在牛津大學出版社擔任編輯。

在過去的二十年中間,陳老師很幸運地以教育工作者的身分,用生命影響生命。她以謙卑的態度堅持教學相長的信念。陳老師認為成功的教學建立於良好的師生關係之上。編輯的工作經歷讓她學會著眼於細微之處的精確。作為一個多語言使用者,再加上養育多語言孩子的經驗,陳老師的多文化經歷開闊了她的眼界。陳芳老師期待加入伊頓,培育俱全球視野的學生們,幫助他們準備好迎接未來的挑戰。

 

Ciara

Theresa CHAN

Chinese Teacher

Diploma in Early Childhood Education

BA Early Years

Theresa 出生於中國西安市,家庭背景為上海籍和廣東籍。

作為一名早期教育者,以兒童為中心是我在愛、耐心和真誠上教導孩子們快樂地學習、履行幼兒工作者職責的主要宗旨。我相信每個孩子都是一個獨特的個體,他們需要一種安全、關心和刺激的氛圍,讓他們在情感上、智力上、身體機能上和社會上逐漸成長和成熟。她希望通過提供一個安全、支持冒險和邀請孩子分享想法的環境來幫助學生滿足他們在這些領域的最大潛力。

剛從英國進修回來的Teresa相信,與學生,家長和同事之間的溝通,是通往成功的鑰匙。在相互支持的環境中,兒童的需求和權利能得以滿足和發揮。

Ciara

Becky TAO

English Teacher

Diploma in Early Childhood Education

Becky在西澳大利亞州的珀斯長大,並在那裡獲得幼兒教育的資格和培訓。在過去的9年中,她在澳大利亞和香港的幼兒園任教,擁有海外和香港的教學經驗,使她對不同的學制有深刻的了解。

Becky對教學充滿熱情,她喜歡看著學生在探索或嘗試新事物時,臉上顯露的興奮表情。她認為瑞吉歐方法(Reggio Emilia Approach)更能吸引孩子們的想像力和興趣,並能因材施教,以滿足學生的需求。

擁有多年任教學前班的經驗,她了解如何幫助每個學生適應校園生活,並讓他們享受學習。她認為,上學的第一年是孩子及其家庭最寶貴的時間,因此她的使命是創造一個以養育,關懷和以學生為中心的環境,以幫助每個孩子建立和創造美好的回憶。

Ciara

April

Chinese Teacher

Diploma in Early Childhood Education

BA Early Years

Theresa 出生於中國西安市,家庭背景為上海籍和廣東籍。

作為一名早期教育者,以兒童為中心是我在愛、耐心和真誠上教導孩子們快樂地學習、履行幼兒工作者職責的主要宗旨。我相信每個孩子都是一個獨特的個體,他們需要一種安全、關心和刺激的氛圍,讓他們在情感上、智力上、身體機能上和社會上逐漸成長和成熟。她希望通過提供一個安全、支持冒險和邀請孩子分享想法的環境來幫助學生滿足他們在這些領域的最大潛力。

剛從英國進修回來的Teresa相信,與學生,家長和同事之間的溝通,是通往成功的鑰匙。在相互支持的環境中,兒童的需求和權利能得以滿足和發揮。


This page was last edited on November 28, 2019

Teaching Staff

 

Vanessa

Vanessa TARCA

Head Teacher & Curriculum Coordinator 

English Teacher

Bachelor of Education in Primary

Vanessa is from the Land Down Under – Australia! She studied at the University of Notre Dame in Fremantle. After six years of study, Vanessa obtained a Bachelor Degree in Primary Education. Completing University, she went straight to full-time work, accepting a position at Good Shepherd Catholic Primary school. Vanessa worked at Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School for four years, teaching the Year 3, 4 and 5 students.

It was time for something new! Vanessa moved to Hong Kong to teach Kindergarten. With her enthusiastic attitude and passion for teaching, she believes learning should be fun for everyone. Vanessa enjoys guiding the children through their own learning experiences, focused around their interests, lives and families. She feels confident in aiding the children to feel secure in themselves, valued in their classroom and curious learners in the world around them.

Vanessa feels honoured to be a part of the EtonHouse community for another school year!

Morgan

Morgan MC LAREN

English Teacher

Bachelor of Science
Bachelor of Design
PGDE Early Childhood Education

Morgan has spent the last three years teaching English to a variety of age groups and backgrounds.  She is currently studying the PGDE in Early Childhood Education. These experiences have provided her with a strong understanding of the English requirements in the Hong Kong schooling system. Passionate about teaching she is looking forward to a new teaching and learning journey at EtonHouse.

Studying internationally in both her home state of New York and then in Hong Kong, Morgan has a well-rounded approach towards Early Childhood. She strongly believes in children learning through play and inquiry. Morgan understands the importance of the environment and immediately found her passion for the Reggio Emilia approach. Morgan’s sense of fun and positive attitude assists her in building strong relationships with her children, staff and families. She looks forward to meeting everyone and beginning the new school year.

Pauli

Pauli LAI

Mandarin Teacher

Master of Teaching Chinese as an International language
Bachelor of Education (Honours) Early Childhood Education
PGCE Early Childhood Education

Working as a kindergarten teacher for more than 6 years, Pauli has experience teaching students from 2 to 6 years old. Through this teaching time period, she knows that children are capable life long learners. They love to explore the world in different sensors, therefore as teachers, she believes we need to respect the individualism of each child and provide the best environment to discover the world and fulfil their curiosity in a safe way.

Completing her Masters degree in Teaching Chinese as an International language Pauli loves to explore different languages from various countries and cultures. She is passionate about passing on her knowledge and culture of Mandarin to young children. As well as speaking Mandarin, Pauli is also fluent in Bahasa Indonesian. She uses this to travel and teach others the importance and value of language. In her leisure time , Pauli enjoys travelling. She takes great interest in visiting museums, historical sites, and tasting different cuisines.

Victoria

Victoria ZHANG

Mandarin Teacher

Master of Education in Early Childhood Education
Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education

Victoria obtained her master's degree in the Education University of Hong Kong, majoring in early childhood education. With the enthusiasm in early childhood education, she is a patient, dynamic and open-minded kindergarten teacher that aims to guide children to explore whatever they are curious about in a meaningful and appropriate way.

Victoria believes that children are the beginning designer of the world, in which they can co-construct their knowledge, form their perceptions and set up their connections to others. She encourages children to learn through play in an authentic and warm environment that all of us create for them. She understands that every classroom has its own unique community and thinks that it is the teacher’s role to assist each child in developing their own potential.

Emiko

Emiko STEWART

English Teacher

Community Studies (Education)
PGCE Early Childhood Education

As an educator, Emiko aims to create a classroom atmosphere where students can meet their full potential in a safe and encouraging space. She is currently studying her PGCE and is passionate about the development of each individual child. The learning space must be inviting for the individual child to take risks, explore and share their ideas.

Emiko is dedicated to Early Childhood learning, believing that the essential elements are:

- Active and clear communication between the educator and the parents
- Teacher’s role to create spaces for children to engage in hands on learning activities
- The ability for students to choose and let their curiosity direct their learning
- And allowing for students to appropriately and activity use their developing skills

Sarah

Sarah LAN

Mandarin Teacher

PGDE Early Childhood Education
Master of Education English (Language Education)
Bachelor of Education (English Literature and Education)
Bachelor of Arts (Japanese)

Sarah is from Jiangxi province in China. She attained her Bachelor of Education – English Literature at the Central China Normal University. Gaining her master’s in education from the University of Hong Kong, Sarah is passionate about teaching, learning and languages. She a lifelong learner and is currently completing her PGDE in Early Childhood Education.

Sarah understands the importance of Early Childhood development and wishes to create a safe, happy and exciting environment for her children. She uses elements of music, role play and rhymes to engage in learning and increase memory skills. Sarah is passionate about the Reggio Emilia approach and looks forward to joining this environment at EtonHouse in the new school year.

In her spare time Sara also completed a Bachelor of Arts in Japanese. She loves the food, culture and history of Japan.

Shirley

Shirley KOO

Mandarin Teacher

Bachelor in English Education
PGDE in Early Childhood Education
Master in Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language
Master Degree, TEFL

Shirley's hometown is Guang Xi Province, China. She has been working in different kindergartens for over 11 years.

Shirley gained her first degree in Mainland China. She then went to study at the Hong Kong Institute of Education, gaining her PGDE in Early Childhood Education. She also finished her Master Degree of Arts in Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language in the Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

Shirley has worked as a professional Mandarin teacher both in local and international settings. Shirley believes that each child is unique and has potential, teachers need to encourage and support children to explore the world by inquiring, observing, listening, communicating with others.

Shirley is a passionate person who provides a warm and loving learning environment in which children enjoy learning Mandarin from young age.

In her spare time, Shirley enjoys being with her family. She likes cycling, swimming and playing table tennis.

Ciara

Ciara SAAVEDRA

English Teacher

Bachelor of Arts (English)

Ciara is from the United States where she grew up in New Jersey and then moved to South Carolina. After high school, she stayed in South Carolina and attend Clemson University where she majored in English and minored in Political Science. While at college, Ciara got involved in Clemson’s largest philanthropic organization on campus and quickly learned she has a passion for working with children, aiming to provide them with a bright future.

After college, Ciara wanted to take time to travel and gain real-world experience so she found her way to Hong Kong to teach young students. Her teaching philosophy involves helping children grow not only academically but also developing a desire to learn. Ciara gained a passion for teaching through the realization of just how impactful her own teachers were in her school career. Without their guidance in the classroom, she wouldn’t be the driven, compassionate person she is today. She hopes to create a safe teaching environment that invites students to have fun and creatively express themselves.

June CHEN

English Teacher

Bachelor's of Education Degree

June

June Chen has worked as an early childhood educator in Shanghai, Hong Kong, and Houston, Texas(USA).  Since returning to Hong Kong in 2009, she has taught in various international schools.  June holds a Bachelor's of Education Degree. 

To empower lives through teaching is a privilege June has enjoyed over the past 20 years.  She views it a life-long lesson to be humble in front of her students, to learn with them whilst guiding them.  She believes positive relationships are crucial to successful teaching and motivating students.  Her experience as an editor has trained her to be attentive to details and accuracy.  Being multilingual and raising multilingual children have widened her outlook and given her many positive intercultural experiences, and in turn, she looks forward to preparing her students at EtonHouse International Preschool for effective global citizenship and the wonderful opportunities that will come their way.

Theresa CHAN

Mandarin Teacher

Diploma in Early Childhood Education

BA Early Years

Theresa was born in Xi’an, China, with her family originating from Shanghai and Guangdong.

As an educator, child-centered learning is her aim for teaching. She believes that each child is a unique individual who needs a secure, caring, and stimulating atmosphere in which to grow and mature emotionally, intellectually, physically, and socially. It is her desire as an educator to help students meet their fullest potential in these areas by providing an environment that is safe, supports risk-taking, and invites a sharing of ideas.

Recently returning from the UK after completing further studies Theresa also believes communication, with children, parents and colleagues, is key to a strong, supportive and safe work environment, where children’s needs are met and rights are protected.

Becky TAO

English Teacher

Diploma in Early Childhood Education

Becky grew up in Perth, Western Australia and also where she has obtained her early childhood qualification and training.  She has been teaching in the kindergarten sector for the past 9 years in both Australia and Hong Kong. This experience gives her a solid understanding of both the overseas and Hong Kong schooling systems.

Becky has a true passion for teaching, she enjoys watching the excitement on students’ faces when they learn, explore or to experiment something new. She believes that the Reggio Emilia approach captures children’s imagination and interest much more than having them passively do table work, she feels her strength is adapting her lessons to meet her students’ needs.

As a pre-nursery teacher for many years, she understands the important steps to help each student to settle and enjoy their school life. She believes the first year of school is the most precious time for children and their families, so she makes it her mission to create a nurturing, caring and student-centered environment to help each one to build and create beautiful memories.

April SHANG

Mandarin Teacher

PGDE in Early Childhood Education

Master of Teaching

BA in English

April is from Harbin, China but has been working in HK kindergartens for many years. April thinks that every child is unique and has a lot of potential. She firmly believes that as teachers, we should always encourage children to be the best they can be. She believes that children enter the classroom with countless questions to be answered and it is the teacher’s job to create a stimulating environment where the students can grow physically and mentally. It is her desire to build this type of atmosphere where children can meet their full potential and explore their curiosity. 

April likes to spend time with her family and her child. She looks forward to growing with the kids together in EtonHouse. 

I appreciate your support and understanding for this change and feel confident that your child will quickly create a positive relationship with Shang Lao shi.


This page was last edited on April 29, 2020